Blur, the NFT marketplace that once handled more than 70% of Ethereum NFT trading, will close its website and stop arranging new loans on its Blend lending product on 12 November 2026. The headline sounds like the end of a protocol. It is not, and the difference is the most practical thing a reader with an NFT-backed loan can understand this week. Blur says its smart contracts remain operational on Ethereum, and holders of the BLUR token keep control of the fee switch. What goes away on 12 November is the interface people use to reach those contracts and the matching service that paired borrowers with lenders. Where that leaves an open loan is only partly answered.

What closes and what does not

According to CoinDesk, Blur will close its website on 12 November and Blend will stop arranging new loans on the same date. Borrowers have until then to repay or risk default, and Blur plans a separate tool to withdraw assets from Blend after the closure. CCN reports that the withdrawal interface has no release date. The distinction between a front end and a protocol is the key. A front end is the website that builds transactions for a user and asks their wallet to sign them. A protocol is the set of programs deployed on the blockchain that actually hold collateral, record loans and move assets. Turning off the website does not delete the programs, and in principle anyone can still interact with them through other interfaces or directly. The sources do not say whether any third-party interface will support Blend, or who holds any administrative keys over the contracts.

What happens to a Blend loan

CCN's explainer describes how Blend loans work, which is necessary context. A Blend loan generally has no scheduled expiry, and interest accrues continuously. A lender can start a refinancing auction in which the interest rate rises until another lender takes over the debt. If a new lender steps in, the loan continues on the new terms. If no one accepts within the auction's parameters, liquidation becomes possible and the existing lender can claim the collateral, meaning the borrower can lose the pledged NFT. CCN adds that the withdrawal tool is meant to help users retrieve assets but does not guarantee immediate cash repayment, so lenders may end up holding NFT collateral, with recovery depending on that asset's value and liquidity.

Here is a reading the coverage does not state, and it should be treated as an inference. If Blend loans generally have no scheduled expiry, then the 12 November deadline looks like a product of the interface closing rather than a contract-level maturity. The contracts do not know it is 12 November. What changes is that after that date borrowers lose the easy way to repay, refinance or manage a loan, and lenders lose the easy way to start an auction. The risk is therefore practical: a position that was manageable through a website becomes one that requires technical tools. Blur's announcement, as reported, uses the language of repay-or-default, and the sources do not reconcile that with the contracts' open-ended design.

What the sources leave unanswered is considerable. They do not give the total of outstanding Blend loans. They do not say how each open loan will be treated at the cutoff, whether all collateral transfers automatically, or what refinancing routes remain after 12 November. Answering the question of what happens to a loan if its owner does nothing therefore comes down to this: the reports say default is possible and that default can mean losing the NFT, but no source describes the mechanics on that date. Anyone with a loan should look for Blur's own documentation and confirm through its official channels.

How volume got to $7 million

CoinDesk, citing DefiLlama, reports that Blur's monthly trading volume peaked at about $1.43 billion in March 2023, when it held more than 70% of Ethereum NFT volume. By March 2026 it was under $7 million, a fall of more than 99.5%. The arithmetic is worth stating: $7 million is under half of one percent of $1.43 billion, roughly one two-hundredth. Blur's website advertises more than $7.4 billion in lifetime volume, a figure we cannot verify and which comes from the marketplace itself. If that is right, the single peak month accounted for about 19% of everything the site ever traded. At the March 2026 pace of $7 million a month, matching $7.4 billion would take about 1,000 months.

The marketplace charged no trading fees, and Token Terminal records $0 in protocol revenue over three years, according to CoinDesk. That figure should be read with its limit: CoinDesk notes it does not show whether Blur earned money from lending or other activity. What it does say is that the product was growing volume, not collecting revenue. Blur launched in 2022 and challenged OpenSea with faster transactions, low fees and token rewards for professional traders. Critics said the incentives encouraged speculative trading and pressured creator royalties, and CoinDesk observes that trading figures do not show how much activity came from genuine buyers rather than reward-seekers.

That last caveat points to a mechanism worth spelling out, flagged as our reading. When a marketplace charges nothing and pays token rewards for volume, volume is something it buys rather than earns. Traders are paid to trade, and the activity continues as long as the payments exceed their costs. When the rewards stop mattering, because the token is worth less or the programme has ended, the volume goes with them. The sources do not date the end of any rewards programme, so we cannot say that is what happened, but the shape of the decline is what that mechanism predicts.

Blur and Blast

CoinDesk draws a contrast with Blast, the Ethereum scaling network created by Tieshun Roquerre, known as Pacman, and developed by Blur's team. Blast announced its own shutdown on 2 October; users must withdraw by 26 October through the network's regular interface. It once attracted more than $2 billion in assets, partly through depositor rewards, and had about $32 million when the closure was announced, a fall of more than 98%. Its developers said operating costs exceeded revenue. Blur has not publicly given a reason. That contrast is the reason the two cases should be kept apart: Blast stated an economic cause, and Blur has stated a date and a scope.

The counter-argument, and the token

There is a reasonable argument that live contracts are not a failure. Smart contracts that keep running after a company stops operating a website are the point of permissionless infrastructure, and tokenholders retaining the fee switch means the option to charge fees survives. On that view, Blur is retiring a product while leaving the plumbing. The other side is that contracts with no maintainers, no interface and no stated owner of administrative controls are only as good as their design, and the sources do not describe any of it. Both views can be held, and the evidence here supports neither strongly.

Markets reacted quickly. CoinDesk's article said the BLUR token fell more than 20% to about $0.015, while its separate market wrap put the fall at 33%, and other outlets reported figures near 29% to 30%. The differences reflect different time windows, and we use the lower bound of more than 20%. Nothing in the reporting suggests the price move changes what happens to loans.

What borrowers and lenders should check

  • Whether the NFT pledged is worth more or less than the loan, because that decides whether default is a loss or a clean exit.
  • Whether to repay before 12 November while the interface still exists, given interest accrues continuously.
  • Blur's own channels for the withdrawal tool and its release date, which have not been announced.
  • Whether any third-party interface will support Blend after the website closes, which is not stated.

The evidence establishes a date, a scope and a collapse in volume. It does not establish how many loans are open, how they will be handled at the cutoff, why Blur is closing, or whether the contracts will be maintained. Those are the unanswered parts that matter most to anyone holding a position.